The “One Month/Two Things Challenge”: How Did We Do?

Hard to believe, but the month of February is almost history, so now comes the moment of truth. Time to check in and see how did we do with the One Month/Two Things challenge? And also to reflect on the past month, and see what was learned about the creative process, where the roadblocks are and how to get around them.

IMG_7812
Well, here’s the painting!

IMG_7830

And the taxes are sent off to the accountant (I know, I made such a fuss, and I don’t even do the whole thing myself), but itemizing receipts and pulling all the expense reports and documents together is truly one of my least favorite things to do in the world, and I DID send them off. This morning to be exact.

And that’s not all. I heard from lots of folks about what they were tackling: Nicolette over at Momnivore’s Dilemma rocked it with a beautiful post about Autism and letting go, occasioned by her emotional reaction to the new Disney movie, Frozen. Sue will be turning in revisions of her latest children’s novel next week, and Joe was back in the studio painting like the old days in the Winchester Street loft. Thanks for inspiring me guys!!

What I noticed was that even with this One Month/Two Things challenge, it took me a while to get going, and I had to work fast this last week. Which means I’ll probably go back and revise the painting, because I tend to do that. But more important, I gained some insight into my creative process, and I’m wondering if you did too? I learned that I actually get afraid when faced with a blank sheet of paper or a blank canvas. They can be terrifying, but why??

As Elizabeth Gilbert, best-selling author of Eat, Pray, Love, says in her humorous Ted Talk, “Your Elusive Creative Genius”:

“Is it rational, is it logical that anybody should be expected to be afraid of the work
that they feel they were put on this earth to do?”

I’m not sure if it’s logical or rational, but I know it’s true for me. I am more afraid of a blank canvas than I am of a blank page on the computer or anything to do with photography or filmmaking. There is just something more personal to me about drawing or painting, as if making that personal touch of a pencil or a paintbrush makes one more vulnerable. That must be why I kept putting the project off, dancing around it, while getting busy with other things.

So what’s the solution? A deadline! Deadlines are going to be crucial for me going forward. If I hadn’t set this One Month/Two Things challenge for myself, the space on the living room wall would still be empty. And the taxes, well that’s what April 15th would have been for. So now I’m wondering what goals should I/we set for March? And I’m trying to remember Ms. Gilbert’s words as she concludes her Ted talk,

“Don’t be afraid, don’t be daunted, just do your job.”


2 thoughts on “The “One Month/Two Things Challenge”: How Did We Do?

  1. I’m the girl who finished the novel, but much more challenging, I sat mindfully for five minutes a day each month. I’ve been circling the cushion (as they say) for twenty years. I love Gilbert’s observations, and yours Cary. To your new maxim of having a deadline, I would add: tell the world what you plan to do, tell everyone you know! It’s an amazing way to stay accountable. Good job…lovely painting. I can’t wait to see it hanging in your home, sis!

    1. It’s amazing how hard it can be to find time for meditation, so five minutes every day is a big deal!! I like your idea about staying accountable too, much easier to slack when you’re keeping your big plans secret. 🙂

Leave a comment